Final Thoughts: The Richmond District in Review

Here it is…the last post of the semester. While the reporting may continue as the year unfolds, for now it will come to an end. Sad, right?

Anyway, reporting in the Richmond District has taught me a lot this semester. I’ve learned so much about the neighborhood and reporting itself. As cheesy as this all sounds, I’ve been taken on quite a journey since that first day of class in January.

For starters, the Richmond District really surprised me. I was expecting a dreary, slow, boring neighborhood. When I realized there was a huge amount of things going on though, I was thrilled. If the many restaurants and shops within the district’s boundaries weren’t enough, the surrounding parks definitely were. Surrounded by the expansive Golden Gate Park, the breezy-yet-beautiful Ocean Beach, and the breathtaking Lincoln Park, the boundaries of this district are more than anyone could ask for in a neighborhood. Though I must admit that I spent most of my time in these parts (as I tend love nature more than the city), I loved my ventures into the neighborhood itself.

The Richmond District is mostly residential, but the little pockets of stores and restaurants really make it a gem. Though the neighborhood did prove to be somewhat slow and dreary, it was in a good way. The sleepy and quiet pace of the Richmond is one of its great qualities. I find it a great change of pace from the hectic, noisy city…and so do its residents. In the pockets of businesses, there’s an incredible amount of culture to be found. Some people may view the district as boring and “cookie-cutter”, like all of the streets are the same. However, every house seems to be a different color (some of them crazy) and in these little pockets of businesses, there are so many different and colorful cultures to be found. That is what really blew me away and changed my attitude toward the district.

On the reporting end of this adventure, I found it really difficult to get into. It was hard for me to come out of my shell and interview strangers. Some people were easy to approach, and most of the people that I did talk to were incredibly genuine and nice. This made it easier to get the hang of things in the long-run, but I do still have some nervousness at the end of this semester. I definitely found that writing is one of my stronger skills, whereas reporting is not. It was very comforting, though, to learn that so many of the Richmond District residents were so kind and open and willing to share about their neighborhood. The people, the businesses, the culture, and definitely the surrounding nature will all keep me coming back to the Richmond District. I hope all of you enjoy it as much as I did (and still do).

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment